Advanced Horror Fiction Writing – Week 4

It’s week 4 (the final week) of what’s been my absolute favorite class I’ve ever had the privilege to participate in.

If I haven’t mentioned it previously, there are hopes/talks that this class will continue to be offered. How I would love to be able to take it again. Perhaps I’ll try, but others should be afforded the same chance and as such, this has been what’s likely a once in a lifetime opportunity. Here, since I haven’t included in previous posts, is the news coverage of the class leading up to its start date:

This last week finds me at having finished reading Sara Gran’s Come Closer, Nick Cutter’s The Troop, Nathan Ballingrud’s The Visible Filth, and having re-read Stephen King’s The Shining. Also, 17 short stories written by my classmates. And hours upon hours devoted to discussing, thinking about, writing, revising, dissecting, and learning horror writing with like-minded people I keep referring to as my “tribe”.

I’ve yet to finish the remaining book, The Girl Next Door, by Jack Ketchum, the book my final paper will be referencing. By Friday I will have compiled a five page “statement of horror”, discussing everything I’ve learned about horror writing up to this point.

But class will still go on past this week, which is to say, lifelong friendships have been forged, an online horror critique group has assembled, and talks of future trips devoted to similar experiences may be discussed.

What a horrifically fun trip it’s been, and will continue to be…

One thought on “Advanced Horror Fiction Writing – Week 4

Leave a Reply

