Mile High Horror, Prim and Grim, and still writing!

Since my last post I’ve been really busy. Not so much with book stuff, but with my Etsy business, my day job, and the tedious process of house hunting and prepping our house to go on the market.

First, for the 2nd year in a row I took Prim and Grim to the Mile High Horror Film Festival. This was my 4th year attending the festival. I volunteered in 2012, attended as a member in 2013, attended as a member AND as a vendor in 2014, and went as a vendor this year but managed to squeeze in some films thanks in HUGE part to my amazing mother and to my friends Marissa, Corinne, and Vincent. But none of this would be possible without my husband who is just so, so supportive. He works a LOT of behind the scenes magic with the creation of many of our awesomely creepy lamps and gives up lots of time to essentially be a single parent during the month of October.

This year I sold necklaces to Lisa and Louise Burns (the Grady Twins from Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining), Ari Lehman (the original Jason Vorhees), the Scissor Sisters, and the always awesome and down to earth Dan Myrick (writer and creator of The Blair Witch Project). I also met some awesome folks which I hope to see more of in coming years, such as the creators of the upcoming Colorado Monster Madness and even a lovely gent whose son worked on Fox’s Scream Queens!

I enjoyed meeting Monster Midian, Daniel Crosier, Ryan Policky, William Wyman, Christenia Colvin, and Keith Eyres. For the myriad other friends I ran into along with the MHHFF volunteers–I was so happy to see you all! So much work goes into this top-notch festival every year. It just keeps growing and it’s NOT to be missed!

Here are some pics from this year’s festival:

A shout out from Lisa and Louise Burns from The Shining- they love the custom necklaces I created for them!
A shout out from Lisa and Louise Burns from The Shining- they love the custom necklaces I created for them!

 

After that, I took Prim and Grim to Share Denver for their Halloween Pop Up.

So that was October. Phew!

 

There has actually been quite a lot of activity on the book front too, even if it hasn’t been action on my part. Meaning:

  • I’ve received valuable feedback on my first two chapters of Shelved from a published author, Holly Bodger, who kindly donated her time as part of the Red Light Green Light contest which I was a top 10 finalist in. I’ll soon be busy working on her recommendations.
  • I also had 50+ high-school-aged beta readers read the first two chapters and answer 10 questions!

To be honest, it took me a while to open both of those emails–afraid enough that just seeing them sitting there in the queue gave me the chills. I’m a perfectionist, and I’ve always had terrible stage fright. At least in my day job as a manager and trainer, my public speaking topics are based on something NOT my own; I didn’t create the system we use… I didn’t create the laws that govern most of what I’m responsible to monitor in my day job. But this book- the writing– is ALL mine. The criticism always feels very personal. So now I’m left to decide where to take this draft of Shelved, but in the meantime, I’m REALLY enjoying reading again! I missed it so much while writing Shelved. I just finished Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty and now I’m halfway through Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I recommend both!

Well, that’s all for now! I’m still here, still working, still writing, and still looking forward to next October. 😉

Leave a Reply

