I hear crickets… clap your hands!

love of books

Hi! Hello!

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Let me take a moment to shovel this blog out of the tumbleweeds…  There we go. So, what on earth have I been up to? Where did I go? “What happened to your manuscript?” you may be wondering… all fair questions.

It’s been a little over 6 weeks since the beta reading process concluded, and I may (or may not) have mentioned, that I decided to make some changes. And not little changes, although at first when I began talking about them, they sounded like small changes. Not so. Not at all. A couple of plot changes means a complete revision, especially when your story has a mystery in it. Or any type of suspense. Remove the wrong thing, and you’ve killed the suspense. Add the wrong thing, and you’ve changed the entire tone of the book. Writing a book is a slippery slope, and if one isn’t careful, it has the ability to consume your soul ::cue flames and demons::. Okay, maybe not exactly, but it can leave some pretty serious bruises and fatigue, and a lot of self-doubt. Scars.

Over the course of the past six weeks I’ve learned when to take a break, when to listen to myself instead of others, how to take criticism, what questions to ask, and patience. I’ve had my query letter critiqued by an agent and I’ve attended a Literature Festival. I’ve managed to step far enough away from my own book to read someone else’s, and I’ve got another book idea or two in the mythical tadpole stage in the very back of my mind for when I finish Shelved. Oh, and did I mention that I’ve completely changed the narrative from third person past-tense to first person present-tense? Yeah… that takes time.

So where am I in the process? Well, I went from having a complete manuscript to only a partial that needs a complete rewrite and new plot points created. That is a problem, considering I have two pending queries sitting in agent inboxes as I type this. But, all is not lost! I have 20,000 words rewritten/re-plotted for the latest manuscript, and I’m holding the cards close to my chest until the entire thing is done. Most importantly, I’m not rushing it. I’m able to spend more time doing normal things if I don’t have a deadline. Sure, I have goals, but not deadlines.

When it’s done, you’ll know. When the first query letters go out after I’m done with the new version, I’ll celebrate, but I probably won’t let you know. But, when all is said and done, after I (fingers and toes crossed) find an agent that is a good match, then I’ll share the details. It could be months, or it could be years. But until then, I’ll continue posting things I learn along the way.

Until next time, thanks for reading!

One thought on “I hear crickets… clap your hands!

Leave a Reply

